Participants 2010

  • Sonu Shivdasani

    Founder and CEO, Soneva Resorts

    Sonu Shivdasani is the Chairman and CEO of Soneva Resorts and a pioneer of Intelligent Luxury. He is the host of the SLOW LIFE Symposium and is deeply committed to progressing sustainability in the tourism industry.

    View presentation.

  • His Excellency Mr. Mohamed Nasheed

    President of the Maldives

    Mohamed Nasheed is the first democratically elected President in the history of the Maldives. President Nasheed was elected president on 28 October 2008, defeating incumbent President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, who ruled the Maldives from 1978-2008.

  • Mark Lynas

    Climate Change Advisor to the President of the Maldives

    Mark Lynas is the author of three major books on climate change – High Tide: News from a warming world (2004); Six Degrees: Our future on a hotter planet (2007) and The God Species: How the planet can survive the age of humans (2011).

  • Jonathon Porritt

    Founder Director, Forum for the Future

    Founder of Forum for the Future, is an eminent writer, broadcaster and commentator on sustainable development.

    View transcript.

  • Stefan Schurig

    Director, Climate Energy, World Future Council

    Dipl. Ing. Stefan Schurig is an architect by training, but devoted most of his career to energy and climate change issues.

    View presentation.

  • Mike Mason

    Founder, Climate Care and Energy Advisor to the President of the Maldives

    Mike Mason is Energy Advisor to the President of the Maldives, Founder of Climate Care and a serial entrepreneur.

    View presentation.

  • Dr. Lounette Dyer

    Founder & CEO, Soledeo Energy

    Dr. Lounette Dyer is Founder and CEO of Soledeo Energy, a renewable energy consulting company with a focus on emerging markets.

  • Jeremy Leggett

    Founder & Chairman, Solarcentury

    Jeremy Leggett is founder and chairman of Solarcentury, currently the UK’s fastest growing private energy company, and SolarAid, one of Africa’s fastest-growing poverty-alleviation charities, set up with Solarcentury profits.

    View presentation.

  • Eric Scotto

    Chairman and Co-Founder, Akuo Energy Group

    Eric Scotto is the Chairman and Co-Founder of Akuo Energy Group, which is a developer, investor and operator of renewable energy plants across the world.

    View presentation.

  • Dr. Anthony Michaels (Tony)

    Dr. Anthony Michaels (Tony)

    Co-Founder and Managing Director, Proteus Environmental Technologies

    Dr. Anthony Michaels (Tony) is Co-Founder and Managing Director of Proteus Environmental Technologies, LLC (Proteus) and CEO of PhycoSystems Inc. Proteus creates economic value through novel connections between business opportunities and universities.

    View presentation.

  • Professor Manfred Hegger

    CEO & Chairman, HHS Planer + ArchitektenAG

    Professor Hegger is CEO and Chairman for Hegger Hegger Schleiff HHS Planer + Architekten AG. The company provides Europe-wide architectural services with main subjects housing, public facilities, educational and research facilities, industrial and commerce facilities.

    View presentation.

  • Miguel Ruano

    Director, Miguel Ruano Associates Ltd.

    A registered architect and planner, Miguel Ruano has more than 30 years experience of global real estate development and design projects, with a major focus on mixed-use and hospitality.

    View presentation.

  • Sanjay Prakash

    Principal Consultant, Sanjay Prakash & Associates Pvt. Ltd.

    Sanjay Prakash, B. Arch., A.I.I.A., is an architect with a commitment to energy-conscious architecture, eco-friendly design, people’s participation in planning, music and production design.

    View presentation.

  • Jakob von Uexkull

    Founder, World Future Council Foundation

    Jakob von Uexkull is a writer, lecturer, philanthropist and activist. He is the Chairman of the World Future Council (WFC), an independent non-profit organisation that works to safeguard the rights of future generations.

  • Professor Geoffrey H. Lipman

    Associate, Schuman Associates; Advisor to Secretary General UNWTO

    Geoffrey Lipman is currently an Associate at Schuman Associates Brussels, leading the global Travel & Tourism practice: Advisor to the Secretary General of the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO): Advisor to the World Economic Forum (Aviation & Tourism).

    View presentation.

  • Costas Christ

    Editor at Large, National Geographic Traveler

    Costas Christ is Editor at Large for National Geographic Traveler and Chairman of the World Travel and Tourism Council – Tourism for Tomorrow Awards. He is an internationally recognized sustainable tourism expert whose work and travels have taken him to more than 100 countries across six continents.

  • Chris Gorell Barnes

    Co-Founder, BLUE Marine Foundation

    Chris Gorell Barnes is the Co-Founder of the BLUE Marine Foundation. BLUE exists to fix the largest solvable problem on the planet – the crisis in the oceans.

  • John Pontin OBE

    Director, The Converging World

    John co-founded the JT Group Ltd in Bristol, UK in 1961 as a Design/Build and Property Development company. Over the course of nearly 50 years the portfolio has included significant ventures both nationally and internationally.

    View presentation.

  • Jonathon Counsell

    Head of Environment, British Airways

    Jonathon was appointed BA’s Head of Environment in December 2007 with responsibility for developing and implementing BA’s strategy on all issues relating to the Environment including Climate Change, Air Quality, Noise and Waste.

    View presentation (please note this presentation was updated Summer 2011).